Start your own sketchbook thread! Finished works or works in progress, it doesn't matter, this is just for you to show the artwork you've been working on.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby Seimore » Sat May 07, 2016 7:29 am

Seimore

Subject title: Seimore's Sketchbook

G'evening all!

So, a little background on me and...stuff. I'm 22 years of age and I'm extremely new to all this! I've only been at it for all of about, two months, so bear with me! While my goal currently is to snag a Bachelor's degree in English and head out to Japan to teach the language, I'm extremely open when it comes to using art as a career way down the line. Though, that will be many years from now, can't get too ahead of myself. I've steeled myself quite the bit and have really started to develop a burn for all of this, though going deep in the details will probably be a bore for you all.

Long story short, I want to improve, improvement feels fabulous! Of course I expect (and have had) many failures but as I've been going I don't let them get me down, nor do I plan to ever let them! I probably have a tad too much time to spend on all this, something like 8+ hours on days I don't work and at least 3 or 4 on days I do (though I'm really slow so it evens out I guess).

For these past two months or so, I've been following Sycra's iterative drawing stuff and have been focusing on the parts of the face. Recently, I've been trying my hand at The Bargue Plates and only just today did I realize I've been doing everything wrong. I've been a tad too focused on portrait and figure drawing (have been ever since I finished Betty Edward's book, Drawing on The Right Side of The Brain) and just today I decided to follow CTRL+Paint's roadmap in traditional drawing.

Though, thanks to my exorbitant amount of time I plan to do each lesson's homework daily. Sooo that leads me to...