Submit your artwork for critiques here, or give someone else some helpful criticism or advice on their artwork. Please keep things civil.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby DRaff210 » Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:44 pm

DRaff210

Subject title: Boy and Beast - Character Critiques

Hello! I'm new around here, and I'm fairly new to art in general, as well. I'm currently very early on in my study of the fundamentals - anatomy, gesture, perspective, color theory, and such - but I do think I've improved quite significantly since I've started my studies (around February). I've been shy about sharing stuff I make with others, but I want to finally change that.

I made this piece back in early April. Even though I've made a lot of progress in the ~3 months since, I'm still quite happy with how this turned out despite my lack of experience. This was made before I started even looking at anatomy or perspective, and thus, I can already see problems in regards to proportions, structure, etc. (lol hands). As I'm still very much a beginner, I'd really like to know what all of you here think about this piece, and what I can do to improve in the future.

Oh, and, uh, I guess a little about the piece itself. I've had this story idea about a kid and his beast guardian for years now, but I've only recently been confident enough to start drawing them. I hope to someday be able to tell their story. So yeah! Any and all advice and critiques are extremely appreciated.
Besties with a Beastie.jpg

Postby aikoonodera » Thu Jul 07, 2016 12:30 am

aikoonodera

DRaff210 wrote:Hello! I'm new around here, and I'm fairly new to art in general, as well. I'm currently very early on in my study of the fundamentals - anatomy, gesture, perspective, color theory, and such - but I do think I've improved quite significantly since I've started my studies (around February). I've been shy about sharing stuff I make with others, but I want to finally change that.