Start your own sketchbook thread! Finished works or works in progress, it doesn't matter, this is just for you to show the artwork you've been working on.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby Fenix_N » Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:51 am

Fenix_N

Subject title: Fenix's Sketchbook

Hey guys, welcome to my sketchbook. I'm a student trying to become a professional artist. Feel free to comment on and critique my stuff, as it will help me improve. Also feel free to ask questions, and I'll help you out. I will be updating this sketchbook at least once a day to keep improving.

Goal - Professional Concept Artist or Illustrator

Programs - Photoshop, Illustrator, Corel Painter, Alchemy

Influences - Tsutomi Nihei, Frank Frazetta, Paul Richards, Feng Zhu, Kekai Kotaki, Akihiko Yoshida

Resources
http://www.homeofthenutty.com
http://www.creativeuncut.com/
Last edited by Fenix_N on Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:24 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby Fenix_N » Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:08 am

Fenix_N

This is a Frazetta study I did yesterday. It was my first time attempting a Frazetta study since my skills have been improving lately and I finally felt like I was ready to do a study from Frazetta. I like how he paints his girls, very fleshy and a bit muscular, so I wanted to learn his style a bit. He sometimes just add pure black to a color to make his shadows. His shadows and highlights contain both warm and cool colors. Both of these contradicts what I have learned so far, but he makes it work, which is pretty amazing. This study was pretty difficult because there were so many colors I had to try to figure out. In the end, it took me about 4.5 hours.

Nudity
Spoiler: show
8-19-2012 Frazetta Study.jpg

An ant study from yesterday. Used references but establish my own perspective system and drew them at a slightly different angle to train my ability to draw in perspective.