Start your own sketchbook thread! Finished works or works in progress, it doesn't matter, this is just for you to show the artwork you've been working on.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby MartiMa » Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:21 pm

MartiMa

Subject title: Martina's Sketchbook

I'm new and I'm here looking for critics and tips on how to improve. I'm basically self taught, but this year I started my fist year at art school. Thanks in advance for any help :D

These are some life drawings I did in the past weeks

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Postby Josephcow » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:54 pm

Josephcow

These are really nice drawings! What kind of art school do you go to? Have they given you any tips?

I think you can still improve the proportions especially of heads, but the overall proportions are overall well done. The sense of form could be increased by having a more consistent tone for the shadow. In the one of the archer especially, there isn't clear light and shadow, rather different patches are different tones, exaggerating each muscle. Conceiving the small parts in context of a larger whole is really important. For example, on the arm of the archer, each muscle is heavily defined. But the shading should reflect that those muscles belong to an overall form of the arm which is a simple cylinder.

Postby arodude » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:51 pm

arodude

I agree with Josephcow, it might be worth blocking out the shadows instead of hatching them. Proko has a useful breakdown on drawing shadows on forms. I'm really impressed with what you've posted so far and look forward to more updates.

Postby MartiMa » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:39 pm

MartiMa

Thanks to both of you, your comments are really helpful! I'll read the link and try to focus more on shadows and proportions on the next works!