Start your own sketchbook thread! Finished works or works in progress, it doesn't matter, this is just for you to show the artwork you've been working on.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby Kilhwch » Mon Sep 29, 2014 9:09 am

Kilhwch

Subject title: Kilhwch's Sketchbook

At long last, I had some time to scan a bunch of images, so I thought I'd post a sketchbook. I've been reading the site for over a year; lurking. Only recently have been making comments, because so many people's sketchbooks are so inspiring and I really like the community here.

A bit of background about me: I have a film degree and my job is somewhat related to design and user interface/user experience (UI/UX). Not a lot of fine art, but I have enough down time at work to draw most days.

Story time: I drew a lot as a child, and I was known for it. People said I was good, but I got in trouble a bunch for drawing in class; had pictures torn up by teachers, etc. Then I transferred from public to private school (because: fighting) and the kids there said my drawings were crap compared to this other kid. He was beyond me in skill, so they were right. I kept trying to draw but was discouraged. Those kids would beat me up (private school doesn't stop fighting), but the other artist (he had the same name as me, ha...) he would just shrug his shoulders when they made fun of me. He wasn't too much of a jerk. One time he did a "paint-over" (it was chalk on the blackboard, but whatevs) of one of my skulls and showed me some ways to basically add expression to a skeleton which I thought was pretty cool.